Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.


Navigate / search

Rahul Sujanani Awarded 2018 ASIE Scholarship

The American Society of Indian Engineers and Architects (ASIE) Board of Directors and Advisory Council has awarded one of the twelve scholarships this year to UT Austin graduate student Rahul Sujanani. A large number of applications in response to their request were received this year making the competition tough. Rahul’s credentials were ranked as one that truly deserved the selection.

ASIE strives to encourage young students of Indian origin to pursue engineering and architectural studies. Rahul has been invited to their Annual Holiday Dinner event on Saturday, November 17, 2018 at India House to receive the scholarship check. 

Jasleen Walia wins 3rd Place and $100 in UT Austin PEER

Jasleen A. Walia won 3rd Place and $100 in the UT Austin Poster Exhibition on Engineering Research (PEER) held on April 11, 2018. The Poster Exhibition on Engineering Research Competition is co-hosted by the Cockrell School’s Engineering Student Services and the Student Engineering Council, and is an excellent opportunity for engineering undergraduates to present their research findings to a series of judges. PEER provides for students a supportive environment to gain experience in technical presentations as well as witness the groundbreaking research conducted by their peers. Participants must be undergraduate engineering students who are currently conducting research with faculty in the Cockrell School and can physically present their poster for 30 minutes during the event.

Jasleen was mentored by Rahul Sujanani, a PhD candidate working in Professor Benny D. Freeman’s Membrane Research laboratory.

Joshua Moon Selected as One of the Three Recipients of the 2018 NAMS Student Fellowship Awards

Joshua Moon has been selected as one of the three recipients of the 2018 NAMS Student Fellowship Awards .

The NAMS Student Fellowship Awards are presented annually to outstanding graduate students in the membrane science and technology area. Preference will be given to students who have not received a NAMS Student Fellowship Award previously.

Each NAMS Student Fellowship Award will consist of a $500 award to the recipient, free registration to the 2018 NAMS Meeting, a free one-year membership in NAMS, a hotel room for the duration of the meeting at the conference hotel, and a commemorative plaque. All award recipients will give their oral presentation during a special award session at the 2018 NAMS Meeting.

Melanie Merrick Selected as One of the Recipients of the 2018 NAMS Elias Klein Travel Supplement

Melanie Merrick Has Been Selected as One of the Recipients of the 2018 NAMS Elias Klein Travel Supplement to attend the upcoming North American Membrane Society (NAMS) meeting. Recipients receive a check for up to $500 for their travel expenses to the NAMS meeting.

The Elias Klein Founders’ Travel Supplement program supports students needing limited financial assistance and will provide up to $500 in reimbursement for reasonable expenses (e.g. travel cost, registration, workshops) for attending NAMS 2018 to present their research (oral or poster presentation). This award program is named in honor of Elias Klein, whose vision and spirit guided the founding of NAMS in 1985.

Alon Kirschner Wins 2nd Place in The University of Texas at Austin Graduate School Three Minute Thesis (3MT) 2018 Competition

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) competition celebrates the exciting research conducted by graduate students. Developed by The University of Queensland (UQ), the exercise cultivates students’ academic, presentation, and research communication skills. The competition supports their capacity to effectively explain their research in three minutes, in a language appropriate to a non-specialist audience.


Engineers in the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin have been selected to help lead a five-year, $20 million National Science Foundation engineering research center aimed at developing new mobile technologies for converting natural gas into transportation fuels near rural natural gas sites.

The ability to convert natural gas into fuels could help the United States secure its energy independence, lower the nation’s energy costs and potentially provide a lower carbon footprint to a future sustainable energy economy. The project’s leaders estimate that their technologies could also inject $20 billion per year into the U.S. economy through the creation of new businesses and the development of a next-generation shale workforce.

The new Center for Innovative and Strategic Alkane Resources (CISTAR) will develop innovative catalysts, separation processes and process systems that convert alkanes — hydrocarbons including methane, ethane and propane — into more valuable liquid fuels, including gasoline and diesel fuels. To better leverage the natural gas sector’s surplus in lighter hydrocarbon gases, CISTAR plans to build small, modular and mobile processing units for small well sites in rural areas.

Along with Joan Brennecke, the UT Austin team includes David Allen, Thomas Edgar, Benny Freeman and Mark Stadtherr of Texas ChE and Sheila Olmstead of the LBJ School of Public Affairs. The researchers will focus on developing materials, technologies and processes for separating reactants and products, minimizing environmental impacts and testing integrated system analyses.

For the full story, Department to Co-Lead $20M NSF Center To Convert Natural Gas Into Transportation Fuels, please go to the department webpage.